Arizona Department of Health Services Releases their Medical Marijuana Final Rules
Without a doubt the competition in Arizona for dispensary permits will be intense, especially in heavily populated areas like Phoenix and Tucson. The state will distribute dispensaries throughout Arizona using a map of community health analysis areas. There are 126 community health areas in Arizona.
The department of health will begin accepting applications for 124 dispensary/cultivation permits on June 1st, 2011 and will charge a partially refundable $5,000 fee. Applicants must be 21 years old, be an Arizona resident for three years, and pass a background check for excluded felony offenses. Applicants must also have access to $150,000 in order to operate a dispensary.
Applicants will be select and awarded registration certificates based on an evaluation process. However, if only one complete application is received for a particular community health analysis area, the applicant will be awarded a certificate.
Read the Arizona Dispensary Rules and Regulations here